Memory Maps

Memory Maps.jpg

After creating the memory map that Liam suggested, I thought it would be a good idea to keep drawing memory maps of the area every few visits in order to see how my perception of the area changes over time. The maps above were drawn after 2, 5 and 7 visits to the site.

The first map does not have a lot of information and the area of focus is quite limited, but it includes information based on visual memory such is the appearance of certain buildings and structures. The second map has an expanded area of focus and a lot of information about the use of each of the buildings. The third map starts to expand further North and the information given about the use of the buildings is quite similar to the second map. The fact that the first map includes a lot of information based on visual experience compared to amount the technical information while the rest of the maps have a significant amount of information about the use of the buildings suggests that my perception of the area started to be influenced by maps and other research that I did. The information I learned based on research and the information I acquired from my visits created an interdependent relationship where my experiences and memory were affected by my research and my research was perceived and understood better due the experiences I had at the site. It was also interesting to see how much the area of focus was expanded after a number of visits and how this was influenced by the area my concept focuses on.

Leave a Reply

